ECity Travel Pages
Travel in Karnataka

Wildlife Sanctuaries in Karnataka

Wildlife sanctuary or a wildlife refuge is a natural haitat that provides protection for endangered species from hunting, predation or competition. It is a protected area, a geographic territory within which wildlife is protected. Boundaries of sanctuaries are not well defined and controlled biotic interference is permitted. Sanctuaries are specially designated areas for the local flora and fauna, where any form of interference that disturbs the natural life is illegal.

Karnataka has about 27 natural habitats declared as wildlife sanctuaries
  • Adichunchanagiri Peacock Sanctuary
  • Anshi National Park
  • Arabithittu Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Attiveri Bird Sanctuary
  • Bankapura Peacock Sanctuary
  • Bandipur National Park
  • Bannerghatta National Park
  • Bhadra Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Bhimgad Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Biligiri Ranga Hills Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Bonal Bird Sanctuary
  • Brahmagiri Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Chincholi Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Cauvery Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Dandeli Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Daroji Bear Sanctuary
  • Dubare Reserve Forest
  • Ghataprabha Bird Sanctuary
  • Gudekote Sloth Bear Sanctuary
  • Gudavi Bird Sanctuary
  • Kabini
  • Kaggaladu Heronry
  • Kokkrebellur Pelicanry
  • Kudremukh National Park
  • Magadi Bird Sanctuary
  • Male Mahadeshwara Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Mandagadde Bird Sanctuary
  • Melkote Temple Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Mookambika Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Nugu Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Pushpagiri Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Rajiv Gandhi National Park / Nagarahole National Park
  • Ramadevara Betta Vulture Sanctuary
  • Ranebennur Blackbuck Sanctuary
  • Ranganathittu Bird Sanctuary
  • Rangayyanadurga Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Sharavathi Valley Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Shettihalli Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Someshwara Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Talakaveri Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Valanur Fishing Camp